Sugar Skulls and Day of the Dead Challenge #8

Happy Monday and the fun theme at Poisoned Peas Please for October has been and continues to be  SUGAR SKULLS/DAY OF THE DEAD.  We want to see anything you create but it must have skulls with flowers and/or anything celebrating the Day of the Dead.  You will have until November 3, 2012, at 11:59 p.m. to enter.

Our sponsor for our 8th Challenge has been the very talented Megan with Dilly Beans.  If you need an awesome Sugar Skull digi, Megan has great ones.  Just click on Halloween and you will be taken to everything with skulls.  Dilly Beans is offering the winner picked by Random.org their choice of 3 (three) digital stamps.

I chose #420 Sugar Skulls Stacked.  I had so much fun coloring it.  I was looking at all of the “Day of the Dead” Sugar Skulls on Google images and deciding which colors to use and I loved that you could use such bright, cheerful colors.  The “Day of the Dead” is a cheerful celebration.  I briefly spoke to a lady from Austin that had lived in San Antonio and she told me that they celebrated it there. We have such a rich Mexican history in Texas.  I am just not in one of the towns nor was I raised in one of the towns that was very close to Mexico.  I am about 6 hours from San Antonio or El Paso.  It would be fun to have more first hand knowledge of what this day is all about.  Anyway, I made 4 bookmarks and I am willing to give 2 of them away if anybody is interested.  You would need to be a follower of my blog and leave a comment telling me that you are interested.  Here is a list of the Copics that I used:

B-04, 16

BV-02, 08

C-00, 9

RV-04, 06, 09, 13, 17, 19, 25, 29

V-05

Y-15, 17, 19

YG-06, 09

YR-04, 07

I had the skull charms already.  I bought them off Etsy from Charm Emporium.  The charms were called “Day of the Dead”.  The shop is closed until Wednesday the 24th so I cannot give you a link right now.  But you can find them there if they still have any.  I hope you have been inspired to create.  You can always go to Poisoned Peas Please as the Design Team there is really awesome.  One or more of them should be able to inspire you.  And if they don’t I have checked out the entries and there is some fabulous inspiration there I guarantee it!  🙂  Please join us.  You will enjoy yourself.  After you have checked out our blog you should join our group at The Stamping Boutique.  We have fun there too.  Until we meet again…Beware Dark Shadows…Bwahahahahahaha…

4 thoughts on “Sugar Skulls and Day of the Dead Challenge #8

All Comments & Responses Are Extremely Appreciated!

